top of page

The wonderful world of acting... to me

This post is about my recent love of acting. For most of my life I have jumped around to different things that I like but this past couple of months I have begun to settle for one thing. Acting. Theatre mostly, but films are also fun and interesting to me. 

I just recently was in the Shakespeare play The Two Gentlemen of Verona and also saw the play performed by professional actors. I have been watching acting videos on YouTube, talking to my friends that enjoy theatre as well, and doing Monologues for anyone that will listen. 

When I'm in a play I feel exilerated, much like somebody who enjoys music feels when they finish writing a song, and when I'm not acting I feel like something is missing. I feel like I don't know what to do. And that's exactly how I felt after my play was finished, and we had performed for the last time. I even cried a couple of times. So I decided to do something about it. 

I emailed the people that I enjoyed being around the most from the play, emailed he director and personally thanked her for a great experience, printed out some monologues, and started embracing the fact that I love acting in my everyday life. But hold up, what do I actually love about acting? 

I love that you can, even just for a moment escape the grasp of reality and live in whatever world you want. 

I love that you can escape painful emotions if only you have the right words, and the right skill.

I love that you can make people laugh, with only a look or a couple of simple words, simply because you are portraying someone other than yourself, and that is impressive. 

But most of all, I love the feeling of fullness in gives me. The wonderful feeling of satisfaction and longing for more when I have completed a piece. It's like when you are full and you feel so good that you just drift off to sleep and have the most wonderful dreams. But when you wake up, you want to go right back to sleep again and continue having those dreams. 

That is how I feel when I have finished up a play or class that I enjoyed (so pretty much everything I do). I just want to walk right back in the building and do it over again. 

And that is why I love acting! What is something that you love?

Crazy Abbie Out!

bottom of page